FAQ

Here you can find the most frequent questions and answers concerning the European School Music Prize. For further questions, please contact the organizer

Background

Who awards the European School Music Prize?
The European School Music Prize has been annually awarded by the SOMM – Society Of Music Merchants e.V. since 2010. More information on the organizer can be found here

Why is the European School Music Prize awarded?
The SOMM – Society Of Music Merchants e.V. grants the Prize to honor exceptional pedagogical achievements, as well as school and teacher projects in the subject area of music which are deserving of support. The aim is to document outstanding and exemplary instances of creative work with musical instruments in schools, and make them available to the public. This way, the perception and appreciation for school music classes should be achieved, and the musical education – as essential part of an integral formation – as well as the active music making should be promoted.

What does the European School Music Prize include?
The European School Music Prize is endowed with total prize money of 21,000 EUR, divided among six categories. Besides the prize money, all award winners receive a certificate as well as a brass badge (not applicable for winners of special prizes).

Participation

Who can participate in the European School Music Prize ?
Teachers from public or privately owned schools of general education who are active in the area of music mediation are eligible to take part in the European School Music Prize. Currently, the Prize is put out for tender in the German-speaking area, as well as in German schools located in foreign European countries.

What kind of entries can be submitted?
Contributions from the area of music mediation, in classes or work groups, that focus on music making with musical instruments can be submitted.

Are there any costs for participating in the European School Music Prize?
Participation in the European School Music Prize – apart from some time that must be invested for preparing the video documentation and filling out the online application – is free of charge. No application fee or similar fees will be charged.

How many entries can be submitted by one teacher per competition?
Each participating teacher may only submit one entry per ongoing competition.

Is it possible to participate several times in the European School Music Prize?
Yes, participating several times in the European School Music Prize is allowed. This is also valid for prize winners, as long as they do not apply with an already awarded entry.

How old may the submitted entries be?
For the evaluation procedure, all entries in the respective competition categories are qualified which have been developed in the current school year.

Does the video documentation have to be recorded by the participants themselves, or may another party be tasked with it?
The video documentation can be prepared either by teachers, students, parents or by external parties. No professional video is expected! The emphasis should be put on an authentic representation of the classes.

The video documentation should be produced specifically for the European School Music Prize.

Please observe our eligibility requirements with regard to the preparation of the video documentation (granting of rights by the participant).

Application

Which way can the application be submitted?
The application for the European School Music Prize can be made exclusively online at www.europaeischer-schulmusik-preis.eu. Written applications are inadmissible. The online application is of limited duration and only possible in the established time period. Please find the application deadline for the current competition in the schedule overview.

What does the application comprise?
The application documents include:

  • the completely filled out online application form, with details about the school and the submitted contribution (presentation of methods, results of the work, among others)
  • a video documentation with maximum length of five minutes, in which the working methods/approach and work results, incl. declarations and short statements of participating students, are presented (insert a YouTube link OR upload a video with the maximum of 50 MB, ideal formats: AVI, MP4, MOV, WMV, FLV, SWF, MPG, MPEG) and
  • the signed declaration of consent from the school administration.

Can the online application form be cached?
No. It is recommended to record the required data in advance in an extra Word document, and to copy-and-paste it into the online application form.

Which format should the video file have, and does the video quality influence the jury's decision?
For the video file, the following formats are recommended: AVI, MP4, MOV, WMV, FLV, SWF, MPG, MPEG. Please make sure that the size of the file does not exceed 50 MB. Should an upload under observance of the 50-MB limit not be possible, in exceptional cases also a YouTube link can be included. Video compression mostly leads to reduced quality of the video, which nevertheless is not relevant for the evaluation of the entries. For prize winners, the video material in good resolution is necessary as a file, for which the organizer will contact the winners separately.

Will a confirmation be sent upon receipt of the competition contributions?
Yes, all participants receive an acknowledgement of receipt after sending the online form. 

What should I do if the online application form cannot be sent and an error notification arises?
Please make sure that

all fields of the online application form have been filled out,information on numbers has only been provided in number format (e.g.: number of students: 25),all required attachments (declaration of consent from the school principal; video documentation) have been enclosed,the video file corresponds to the predefined formats, andyou confirmed having read the participation conditions.

What happens to the contributions that are not in accordance with the participation conditions?
Contributions and applications that are not in accordance with the participation conditions will be disqualified.

Result

How are the award winners chosen?
The winners of the European School Music Prize are determined by a specialized jury composed by personalities of the music pedagogical area. From the submitted entries, the jury selects the respective prize winners for each category. The jury is entitled to divide the prize money of one category or, as the case may be, to grant no award. It is also under the jury's responsibility to award special prizes. The jury's decision is definitive and incontestable.

How and when do I get to know about the jury's decision, and will all participants be informed of the result?
The public announcement of the prize winners mostly takes place one month after the closing date for applications. All competition participants will be informed in mail form about whether or not they have been selected by the jury for receiving a prize. A justification of the jury's decision will only occur in the case of award winners. Other information on the evaluation of each competition contribution will not be given. Legal procedures against the decision of the jury are ruled out. A legal claim for consideration in the selection process or for the awarded prizes does not exist. As long as not otherwise expressly described, the conditions formulated in the regulations apply.

Is the prize money bound for a specific purpose, and onto which bank account will it be transferred?
Yes, the prize money of each category is bound to a specific purpose, and must verifiably flow into the music classes of the award winning school. The bank account details will be requested from the award winners separately by the organizer; the money will be transferred onto school accounts or accounts of booster clubs.

What happens to the submitted contributions once the competition is over?
The contributions of the prize winners will be made public. The entries of all other participants will be archived, and deleted after a period of three years.

Organizer

Kindly supported by

Druckansicht

FAQ

Hier finden Sie die häufigsten Fragen und Antworten zum Europäischen SchulmusikPreis. Bei weiteren Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an den Ausrichter

Hintergrund

Wer vergibt den Europäischen SchulmusikPreis?
Der Europäische SchulmusikPreis wird seit 2010 jährlich von der SOMM – Society Of Music Merchants e.V. vergeben. Nähere Informationen zum Ausrichter finden Sie hier.

Warum wird der Europäische SchulmusikPreis vergeben?
SOMM – Society Of Music Merchants e.V. vergibt den Preis für besondere pädagogische Leistungen und förderungswerte Schul- und Lehrer-Projekte aus dem Fachbereich Musik. Ziel ist es herausragende und vorbildhafte Beispiele für kreatives Arbeiten mit Musikinstrumenten an Schulen zu dokumentieren und sie der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Damit soll die Wahrnehmung und Aufwertung des schulischen Musikunterrichts erreicht und die musikalische Bildung – als ein wesentlicher Bestandteil der ganzheitlichen Bildung – und das aktive Musizieren gefördert werden.

Woraus besteht der Europäische SchulmusikPreis?
Der Europäische SchulmusikPreis ist mit insgesamt 21.000 EUR dotiert, die sich auf sechs Kategorien aufteilen. Neben dem Preisgeld erhalten alle Preisträger eine Urkunde sowie eine Messingplakette (gilt nicht für Träger von Sonderpreisen).

Teilnahme

Wer kann am Europäischen SchulmusikPreis teilnehmen?
Zur Teilnahme am Europäischen SchulmusikPreis berechtigt sind Lehrkräfte aus allgemeinbildenden Schulen öffentlicher und privater Trägerschaft, die im Bereich der Musikvermittlung tätig sind. Aktuell wird der Preis im deutschsprachigen Raum sowie an deutschen Schulen im europäischen Ausland ausgeschrieben.

Was für Beiträge können eingereicht werden?
Es können Beiträge aus dem Bereich der Musikvermittlung in Klassen oder Arbeitsgemeinschaften eingereicht werden, die das Musizieren mit Musikinstrumenten im Fokus haben. 

Kostet die Teilnahme am Europäischen SchulmusikPreis etwas?
Die Teilnahme am Europäischen SchulmusikPreis ist – abgesehen von etwas Zeit, die Sie für die Erstellung der Videodokumentation und die Onlinebewerbung investieren müssen – kostenfrei. Eine Anmeldegebühr oder ähnliches wird nicht erhoben.

Wie viele Beiträge dürfen pro Wettbewerb von einem Lehrer eingereicht werden?
Jeder teilnehmende Lehrer darf nur jeweils einen Beitrag pro laufenden Wettbewerb einreichen.

Kann man mehrmals am Europäischen SchulmusikPreis teilnehmen?
Ja, am Europäischen SchulmusikPreis kann mehrmals teilgenommen werden. Dies gilt auch für Preisträger, solange sie sich nicht mit einem bereits prämierten Beitrag bewerben.

Wie alt dürfen die eingereichten Beiträge sein?
Für das Bewertungsverfahren sind alle Beiträge in den jeweiligen Wettbewerbskategorien qualifiziert, die während des aktuellen Schuljahrs entstanden sind.

Muss die Videodokumentation von den Teilnehmern gedreht sein, oder kann dafür auch jemand beauftragt werden?
Die Videodokumentation kann sowohl von Lehrern, Schülern, Eltern oder externen Beauftragten erstellt werden. Es wird kein professionelles Video erwartet! Das Hauptaugenmerk ist auf eine authentische Darstellung des Unterrichts zu legen. 

Die Videodokumentation sollte eigens für den Europäischen SchulmusikPreis angefertigt werden. 

Bitte beachten Sie bei der Erstellung der Videodokumentation unsere Teilnahmebedingungen (Rechteeinräumung durch die Teilnehmer).

Bewerbung

Auf welchem Weg kann die Bewerbung eingereicht werden?
Die Bewerbung um den Europäischen SchulmusikPreis ist ausschließlich online unter www.europaeischer-schulmusik-preis.eu möglich. Schriftliche Bewerbungen sind nicht zulässig. Die Online-Bewerbung ist zeitlich begrenzt und ausschließlich im festgesetzten Zeitraum möglich. Die Bewerbungsfrist zum aktuellen Wettbewerb entnehmen Sie bitte der Terminübersicht.

Woraus besteht die Bewerbung?
Zu den Bewerbungsunterlagen gehören:

  • das vollständig ausgefüllte Online-Bewerbungsformular mit Angaben zur Schule und zum eingereichten Beitrag (u.a. Darstellung der Methode, Ergebnisse der Arbeit)
  • eine Videodokumentation mit der Länge von max. fünf Minuten, in der die Arbeitsmethode/-vorgehen und Arbeitsergebnisse, inkl. Aussagen und Kurzstatements beteiligter Schüler/-innen dargestellt werden,
  • die unterzeichnete Einverständniserklärung des Schulleiters.

Kann das Online-Bewerbungsformular zwischengespeichert werden?
Nein. Es empfiehlt sich, die geforderten Angaben in einem gesonderten Word-Dokument  vorzuschreiben und sie mittels Kopiermodus in das Online-Bewerbungsformular einzufügen.

Welches Format benötigt die Videodatei und hat die Dateiqualität eine Auswirkung auf die Juryentscheidung?
Für die Videodatei sind folgende Formate empfehlenswert: AVI, MP4, MOV, WMV, FLV, SWF, MPG, MPEG. Bitte achten Sie darauf, dass die Größe der Datei 50 MB nicht überschreitet. Sollte ein Upload bei Einhaltung der 50 MB nicht möglich sein, kann auch ein Youtubelink eingefügt werden. Videokompressionen führen meist zu einer reduzierten Qualität des Videos, was aber für die Bewertung der Beiträge nicht relevant ist. Von Preisträgern wird das Videomaterial in guter Auflösung als Datei benötigt, wofür sich der Ausrichter aber nochmals gesondert mit diesen in Verbindung setzt.

Werden für die Wettbewerbsbeiträge Eingangsbestätigungen verschickt?
Ja, alle Teilnehmer erhalten nach Versand des Online-Formulars eine Eingangsbestätigung.

Was tun, wenn das Online-Bewerbungsformular nicht verschickt werden kann und eine Fehlermeldung auftaucht?
Bitte achten Sie auf darauf, dass 

  • alle Felder im Online-Bewerbungsformular ausgefüllt sind,
  • Zahlenangabe nur im Zahlenformat gemacht wurden (Bsp.: Anzahl der Schüler: 25),
  • alle geforderten Anhänge (Einverständniserklärung des Schulleiters; Videodokumentation) beigefügt wurden,
  • die Videodatei den vorgegebenen Formaten entspricht und
  • sie das Lesen der Teilnahmebedingungen bestätigt haben.

Was geschieht mit Beiträgen, die die Teilnahmebedingungen nicht einhalten?
Beiträge und Bewerbungen, die die Teilnahmebedingungen nicht einhalten, werden disqualifiziert.

Ergebnis

Wie werden die Preisträger ermittelt?
Die Preisträger des Europäischen SchulmusikPreises werden durch eine Fachjury ermittelt, die sich aus Persönlichkeiten aus dem Bereich der Musikpädagogik zusammensetzt. Die Jury wählt aus den eingereichten Beiträgen für die einzelnen Kategorien den jeweiligen Preisträger. Die Jury ist berechtigt, die Preisgelder einer Kategorie zu teilen oder gegebenenfalls keine Prämierung durchzuführen. Es obliegt ihr ebenfalls Sonderpreise zu vergeben. Die Entscheidung der Jury ist definitiv und unanfechtbar.

Wie und wann erfährt man über den Juryentscheid und werden alle Teilnehmer über das Ergebnis informiert?
Die öffentliche Bekanntgabe der Preisträger erfolgt meist 1 Monat nach Bewerbungsschluss. Es werden alle Wettbewerbsteilnehmer postalisch darüber informiert, ob sie von der Jury für eine Preisträgerschaft ausgewählt wurden oder nicht. Eine Begründung des Juryentscheids erfolgt nur im Falle einer Preisträgerschaft. Weitere Auskünfte zu den Bewertungen der einzelnen Wettbewerbsbeiträge erfolgen nicht. Gegen die Entscheidung der Jury ist der Rechtsweg ausgeschlossen. Ein Rechtsanspruch auf Berücksichtigung im Auswahlverfahren oder auf die ausgelobten Preise existiert nicht. Es gelten, soweit nicht ausdrücklich anders beschrieben, die in Reglement formulierten Bedingungen.

Sind die Preisgelder zweckgebunden und auf welches Konto werden sie überwiesen?
Ja, die Preisgelder der einzelnen Kategorien sind zweckgebunden und müssen nachweislich in den Musikunterricht der Preisträgerschule fließen. Die Kontodaten werden bei den Preisträgern gesondert durch den Ausrichter angefragt; die Gelder werden auf Schulkonten oder Konten von Fördervereinen überwiesen.

Was geschieht mit den eingereichten Beiträgen nach dem Ende eines Wettbewerbs?
Die Beiträge der Preisträger werden veröffentlicht. Die Beiträge aller anderen Teilnehmer werden archiviert und nach Ablauf von drei Jahren gelöscht.

Ausrichter

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung

Druckansicht